skip to content

Department of Plant Sciences


Head of Department Professor Alison Smith

Senior Research Fellowships (Independent Fellowships, allowing individual research groups to be established usually over 5 years, some renewable over 3 years) include Royal Society University Research Fellows, Gatsby Fellows, BBSRC David Phillips Fellows, and some NERC Fellows.

Junior Fellowships and Postdoctoral Research Associates (3 to 5 year, usually fixed term) include Dorothy Hodgkin Fellows, Marie Curie Fellows, College Junior Research Fellows and Postdoctoral Research Associates.

Background to the Department

The Department recognises the essential research contribution of Fellows and postdoctoral scientists and welcomes the support they give to undergraduate teaching and postgraduate training. This document provides an introduction for Senior Fellows, Junior Fellows and Postdocs to the Department and to the Cambridge system, and defines the contribution they can make to teaching in addition to their research programme, and summarises the ways in which the Department can promote their career development.